Emergency Management Planning Committee (EMPC)

An Emergency Management Planning Committee was established to help facilitate and provide guidance to Emergency Management staff on emergency management issues in Grays Harbor County.

The Emergency Management Planning Committee shall consist of representatives from:

1.   City of Aberdeen
2.   City of Cosmopolis
3.   City of Elma
4.   City of Hoquiam
5.   City of McCleary
6.   City of Montesano
7.   City of Oakville
8.   City of Ocean Shores
9.   City of Westport
10. Grays Harbor County Sheriff
11. Grays Harbor County Division of Emergency Management
12. Grays Harbor Fire Districts
13. Grays Harbor E 911 Communications
14. Quinault Indian Nation
15. Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

The Emergency Management Planning Committee meets on the 2nd Tuesday every other month or as determined necessary to address pertinent issues at Aberdeen Police Department, 10:00am.

Their duties shall include, but are not limited to, review and recommendation to the Board of County Commissioners for approval of emergency operations plans, mitigation plans, and the use of countywide funding provided for emergency management.

December Agenda
September Minutes
September Agenda
June Minutes 
June Agenda
March Minutes
March Agenda
January Minutes
January Agenda

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The purpose of the Grays Harbor County Local Emergency Planning Committee is to develop and support programs which are designed to improve emergency planning, preparedness, mitigation, response, and recovery capabilities with special emphasis associated with hazardous chemicals. The LEPC provides an opportunity for local businesses, response agencies, and citizens to share information about:

  • Hazardous substances in the county
  • Emergency planning measures
  • Health and environmental risks due to hazardous substances
The Local Emergency Planning Committee meets on the 2nd Wednesday of every other month.
Next meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 11, 2022 at 10:15am (via Zoom)

Community Right to Know
Every American has the right to know the chemicals to which they may be exposed in their daily living. Right-to-Know laws provide information about possible chemical exposures. Some of the information that EPA provides the public in the spirit of right to know is: Toxics Release Inventory, Food Quality Protection Act (FQPA) of 1996, Air Pollution, Water Quality, Lead Program, and Hazardous Waste.

The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) was created to help communities plan for emergencies involving hazardous substances. EPCRA has four major provisions: one deals with emergency planning and three deal with chemical reporting. EPCRA local emergency planning requirements (Sections 301 to 303) stipulate that every community in the United States must be part of a comprehensive emergency response plan. Facilities are required to participate in the planning process.

According to the EPCRA chemical reporting requirements, facilities must report the storage, use, and release of certain hazardous chemicals.
Members (TBA)

Emergency Support Function (ESF) #10– Oil and Hazardous Materials Response Plan was developed to provide a means of managing both major and minor hazardous material incidents, and in the event of such incidents, to carry out emergency operations designed to minimize loss of life, alleviate suffering and mitigate property and environmental damage.

March Agenda
January Minutes
January Agenda

December Minutes
November Minutes
November Agenda
September Minutes
September Agenda
July Minutes
July Agenda
May Minutes
May Agenda
March Minutes
March Agenda
January Minutes
January Agenda