2018 Draft Critical Area Protection Plan


Grays Harbor County Critical Areas Ordinance Update

The Growth Management Act requires local governments to protect five types of critical areas: important fish and wildlife habitat areas, wetlands, critical aquifer recharge areas, frequently flooded areas; and geologically hazardous areas, (such as bluffs).Grays Harbor County’s critical areas regulations are a response to that law – they regulate how development and redevelopment can safely occur on lands that contain critical areas.

2018 Update to the Critical Areas Ordinance

Grays Harbor County is in the process of updating the critical areas regulations adopted in 2012. The purpose of the changes is to modify the critical areas regulations to be consistent with current Best Available Science.

Any person desiring to express their views in writing, request additional information, or be notified of the action taken on this update should contact the Grays Harbor County Planning Division, Attn. CAO UPDATE, 100 W. Broadway, Ste. 31, Montesano, WA 98563 or by email to pdb@co.grays-harbor.wa.us

Critical Area Protection Ordinance Update- Draft version November 3, 2017

Critical Area Protection Ordinance (current)

Critical Areas Ordinance

  • What Are Critical Areas? [link under construction]
  • Schedule and History [link under construction]
  • Read Adopted Ordinance[link under construction]
  • Best Available Science[link under construction]